Construction time

november 9, 2010 kl. 10:29 e m | Publicerat i Skrivande | Lämna en kommentar

How long does it take to build a mind suitable enough to write a damn good novel?

And how do you build that mind?

Why do I suck?

I have great visions of scenes, yet I can’t describe them very well in words.

When I look at what I’ve written, I find that it’s not the same thing that I wanted to write. Something is lost between my mind and my hand. I lack the ability to express myself fully and freely.

When Lord Byron died at age 36, he had already written a lot of stuff good enough. So had Franz Kafka at age 40. Ernest Hemingway shot himself at age 61. What’s my point mentioning that? I don’t know. But I do know that at age 30, Hemingway could present himself as the writer of ”The Sun also rises” and ”A farewell to arms”.

This is how I sometimes present myself: ”I’m trying to write a novel.”

Maybe it would be more accurate to say: ”I’m trying to build a mind that can write a novel. Not in the Dr. Frankenstein way, though. I make experiments with my own mind, see? I read novels and I read books about how to write novels, and it’s all in here, you know. It’s all in here, and one day, I will get the whole story down on paper, and it will be a marvellous experience to see all those copies of my book piled up in the window of the bookshop around the corner. Yes …” and then I will just stand there with empty eyes, and people will slowly move away from me, go to the bar, order some drinks and have a laugh at me. No, they will not even remember me. An unpublished writer is something you hang your hat, your coat and your umbrella on before you enter the ballroom.

Kommentera »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Kommentera

Skapa en gratis webbplats eller blogg på WordPress.com.
Entries och kommentarer feeds.

